Magic Cookie Bars

I am sitting here eating a magic cookie bar even though it is way too close to dinnertime.  What is a magic cookie bar?  Well my dear reader it is only the most delicious Christmas cookie of all time.  I suppose it is not technically a Christmas cookie, but we have Rules around here saying you can only prepare them between Thanksgiving and Christmas.  Without these controls in place, both Tom and I would weigh approximately 600 pounds.   We are on our fourth batch since Thanksgiving.

These cookies go by many names.  I have seen them called 7-layer bars and garbage bars.  But I prefer magic cookie bar. 

Perhaps I should have checked with my family before divulging this recipe, but I am pretty sure I have seen it printed on the condensed milk cans, and you can even get a kit to make them, so I guess the cat is out of the bag.

Get your car keys you will need the following:

 

  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1½ Cups of graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 Cup coarsely chopped walnuts (or you can use pecans, but why would you?)
  • 1 Cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1-1/3 Cup shredded coconut
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk

Go ahead, I’ll wait.

 

Okay, now preheat your oven to 350 degrees and dig out a 9x 13-inch pan

 

  • Melt the butter and pour it into the pan
  • Sprinkle the graham cracker crumbs evenly over the butter
  • Sprinkle the nuts evenly over the graham crackers
  • Sprinkle the chocolate chips evenly over the nuts (are you sensing a theme here?)
  • Sprinkle the coconut evenly over the chocolate chips
  • Pour the condensed milk evenly over everything.  This is the glue that holds it all together
  • Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes or until the tops starts to brown. I like mine pretty well done, but to each his own.
  • Cut them while they are still warm and be sure to run your knife around the outside edge of the bars or you will never, ever get them out of the pan.

Try not to eat them all at once.

2 thoughts on “Magic Cookie Bars

  1. Pingback: And the secret ingredient is « My Little Bit of Everything Blog

Leave a Reply

