Ladies and gentlemen, Santa has left the building

Okay, actually, he hasn’t even been here yet.  But I finished wrapping and assessing all the Operation Fat Man goodies yesterday in my last wrapping session of the season.  Hooray!

I am not sure if my children still believe in Santa or not.  I suspect they do.  I have overheard conversations when they don’t know I am nearby that lead me to this conclusion.  They talk about him like a real person.  Sometimes I worry I have sold the whole Santa thing too hard.

Anyway, yesterday while the children were at school I pulled the big opaque Sterilite containers out of the crawl space in the bathroom, bumped my head, cursed and dragged everything downstairs.  Then I went to the basement and procured my roll of special Santa wrapping paper.  Santa never uses the same paper that I use.  He’s clever that way.

The next step is printing the labels on the computer, so the kids don’t recognize Santa’s handwriting.  He used to write in the “Chalkboard” font but this year Santa is writing in cursive.  He has beautiful penmanship.  It is called “Snell Roundhand”.  I will have to try to remember that next year so Santa’s handwriting doesn’t change.

The Princess is getting an Ipod Shuffle from Santa this year.  (I predict she will lose it before New Years).  I put the shuffle in a really big box to fool her.  I am so sneaky.

Each kid is getting four presents from Santa.  I wrapped them all and arranged them artfully under the tree to make sure it all looked good, and to make sure I didn’t have to fill in anywhere.  Then I checked out the stash for the Christmas stockings for the same reasons.  I did not, however, actually stuff the stockings.

Finally everything goes back into the giant opaque Sterilite containers, but this time they go down to the basement.  I always make a lot of noise getting in and out of the bathroom crawl space, and I am afraid I will wake them up.  Better to hide the stuff in the yukky part of the basement that the children avoid.  I hope spiders don’t get into the boxes. 

Wait, I lied.  There is one more step:  eradicating the evidence.  This is the tricky part.  Every tiny scrap of gift wrap, every bit of ribbon, any and all leftover packaging, labels, price tags and shipping boxes must be bagged up and taken directly to the outside trash cans so the children don’t see any of it.  This is the part that always worries me.  I am always afraid I will miss something and they will find it. 

 

It’s a good thing I finished all that yesterday because they closed school early today in anticipation of the coming storm.  Never mind that it wasn’t even cloudy yet when they got home.  But, it does count as a whole day, because everybody had lunch.  Now we will just have to wait and see about tomorrow.

In other gift-wrapping news I finished two rolls of paper.  Woo hoo!  Only four more to go.  Oh, and I found some really really cute gift-wrap at Target yesterday.  I swear this is a sickness with me.  I have to remind myself that the adorable paper I think I can’t live without now is the paper I will be cursing two years from now.

Leave a Reply

