Cookies

Today I was planning on making birthday treats for the Princess.  Of course it isn’t her birthday.  But, her birthday is in June, after school gets out (barring any snow day make-ups) so she likes to take them for her half birthday.

She told me she wanted blondies, which are really just tollhouse bars with butterscotch chips instead of chocolate chips. Easy peasey,  I went to the cabinets to gather my ingredients:

  • Flour – check
  • Baking powder and salt – check
  • Eggs and butter – check and double check
  • Vanilla – check
  • Chips – check
  • Sugar – check
  • Brown suga-wait a second.  I don’t have any brown sugar?  How is that possible?

How can it be that I do not have any brown sugar as we enter the thick of the holiday baking season?  Me, the baking queen.  A woman who knows the recipe for tollhouse cookies by heart?  This is a serious failure on my part.  My inner Martha is not pleased.

Now I will have to wait to make the cookies after dinner, because I will have to get brown sugar when I pick the children up from school.  

I don’t want to make the cookies after dinner.  I like to consider myself off-duty after dinner, and I don’t want to have to do anything if you know what I mean. 

I can hear you all now gently reminding me that I have seven glorious hours a day while the children are in school to just do what I want.  But that’s where you’re wrong.  That’s when you have to do all the things you don’t want to do with the children.  Do you see the difference?  That is when you have to do things like go grocery shopping, or Christmas shopping (tis the season), or go to Target without spending 20 minutes in the toy aisles (unless you are Christmas shopping).  Sigh.

In other news I have started getting the 12 days of cookies emails from the Food Network.  I don’t know why I sign up for these emails.  I could probably make 5 new kinds of Christmas cookies every year from now until I turn 80 and never have to repeat a recipe.  It’s not like I need any more.  Plus the Food Network recipes always seem really complicated and I just really don’t have time for that.

 

 

Leave a Reply

