Farewell Joy of Cooking

My Joy of Cooking book has fallen apart. Literally.  As in, it is no long in one piece.  This makes me sad. 

The weird thing is, I almost never use any of the recipes in that book.  Wait, I take that back, I use their pizza dough recipe.  I think that might be it.

But I love the Joy of Cooking.  It is such a fantastic reference book.  It will tell you how to cook anything.  It will even tell you how to cook goat, or how to prepare a whole roast pig.  And you just never know when you might be called upon to cook a goat or a whole pig.

So since I don’t actually use it as a cookbook much, I have no idea how it got to be in such rough shape.  But it is.  Now I am faced with a dilemma.  Do I just get some big rubber bands and put it back together?  Or, do I suck it up and buy a shiny new copy.  I am leaning toward rubber bands.

There is something kind of depressing about a shiny new cookbook.  It looks so unloved.  I like a cookbook with gravy stains on it.  With coffee rings and mysterious drips and folds.  A cookbook that looks lived in.  Maybe I should just buy a new one and smudge it up.  What to do?  What to do?

2 thoughts on “Farewell Joy of Cooking

Leave a Reply

