Post election blues

I think I am having some kind of election hangover.  It’s like I don’t know what to do with myself now.  I don’t have to be obsessively checking 270 to win dot com, or the latest polls. I don’t even have to avoid the news on NPR to keep from getting nervous, or try to keep from throwing things at the television during the John McCain political ads.  It’s weird.

My Obama/Biden yard sign is still up.  I can’t quite bring myself to do take it down.  I still have my Obama 08 button on my jacket too.  Again, I just can’t quite manage to take it off.  Even though a week ago all I kept saying was “I just want this to be over” now that it is over, I’m kind of at loose ends. 

It’s not like I don’t have anything to do.  I have a couple of craft projects.  I am doing a latch hook rug with a horse on it for The Princess. And of course there is the hell blanket for The C-Man.  I started that today and it is giving me some trouble.  I am trying to weave in the ends of the yarn as I knit, and it is turning out to be more complicated than I thought.

There is also the small matter of the looming Holidays.  But I digress…

I have also been pondering an odd sort of political question.  We live in a state with a relatively smallish population and only 7 Electoral Votes.  But it was a pretty hotly contested state, with McCain especially pushing hard with radio and TV advertising, even though his staff here was much smaller.

So my question is this, is it better to volunteer for a campaign here, in a smaller state that could have maybe gone either way, and help deliver a measly 7 electoral votes, or is it better to volunteer in a hard core Blue State like California and help deliver a whopping 55 electoral votes, even though those were pretty much a lock all along?  It’s a question that really cannot be answered in any satisfactory way.  Tom says it’s best not to think about it.

Leave a Reply

