The Mall

The children did not have school today.  Oh, the horror.  The weather was crappy today too.  Oh no, the double whammy!  So I did what any self respecting slacker mom would do.  I took them to the mall.  And not just any mall.  I took them to the super-fancy new mall that is actually a couple years old now down in the Big City.

We don’t do that very often.  I don’t know why not.  The Big City is only about a 30-minute drive from here.  Of course this particular mall is on the far side of the Big City so it takes about an hour to get there.  I always find myself thinking “I don’t want to go all the way down there just to go shopping” like its such an inconvenience.  This is ridiculous because I will happily drive 6 hours to Chicago if you promise me an afternoon of shopping downtown.

Anyway, today we had a mission.  The children have been saving their allowance and tooth fairy money and random money from the grandparents and declared they wanted to go to Build a Bear Workshop.  Well of course they did.  Both Princess O and the C-man are crazy for stuffed animals.  They both have approximately 10,000 of them.  Apparently this isn’t enough.  Apparently they decided they needed 10,001.  Well, it’s their money and stuffies are harmless enough so what’s a mom to do?

We got in the trusty family car and hauled ourselves mallward. 

After building bears and eating at Chick fil-A (I love Chick fil-A) I asked the kids what they wanted to do next.  The Princess looked at me and said “can we just hang out here for a while?”  I was so happy.  My little girl wanted to hang out in the mall.  Like mother like daughter.

I love shopping malls.  Tom says this is a product of my suburban upbringing.  He always says “you can take the girl out of the suburbs, but you can’t take the suburbs out of the girl”.  Frankly, I don’t see anything wrong with that.  Why do I like malls so much?  I couldn’t tell you.  Maybe because I had a part time job in one for most of high school.  Maybe because I enjoy a good round of recreational shopping.  Maybe because I am just nerdy that way.  Whatever the reason I enjoyed myself tremendously even if I did have to go to Build a Bear Workshop.  

Leave a Reply

