The World Series that wasn’t

The Fall Classic starts tonight.  The Tampa Bay Devil Rays – whoops!  Make that just the Rays – against the Philadelphia Phillies.  You have to ask yourself, does anybody really care? 

You just know all the Fox executives were lighting candles and saying novenas for the ultimate World Series Showdown, the Boston Red Sox vs. the Chicago Cubs.  Oh, the buzz!  Oh, the excitement!  Oh, the history! Oh, the ratings! 

But alas, it was not to be.  Instead they will all have to cry in their beers and try to find a way to make a Series between two small-market teams sound exciting to the casual “I only watch the World Series” fan.  

This is a strange year for me.  For the first time since 2004 I really don’t care one way or the other who wins.

Here is a list of the last 4 World Series match-ups and who I was rooting for:

  • 2004 – Boston Red Sox vs. St. Louis Cardinals
    Duh
  • 2005 – Chicago White Sox vs. Houston Astros
    The White Sox are an abomination and should not be allowed to exist.  I hate those guys; obviously I had to root for Houston.
  • 2006 – Detroit Tigers vs. St. Louis Cardinals
    The only team I hate as much as the White Sox is the Cardinals.  Go Tigers
  • 2007 – Boston Red Sox vs. Colorado Rockies
    Again, duh.

I’ll watch, and I will probably get a lot of knitting done over the next few nights, but I can’t seem to fire up any passion about either team.

And the Fox Powers That Be will have to make do with this very regional not very interesting pair of teams.  True the Rays have the Cinderella Story angle, but they have already beat that horse to death.  I’m sure they will try to create some drama, some excitement, some kind of passion.  But outside of Philadelphia and maybe Tampa Bay, I don’t think anybody is all that interested.

 

Leave a Reply

