Why I love the Red Sox

Okay, now I can write my smiley happy why I love the Red Sox post.  The one I was going to write yesterday.

I suppose it might be puzzling to some of you how I could be so upset about the Cubs one day and then just switch to the Red Sox like that.  Well, first of all, I am still upset about the Cubs.  Gutted, in fact.  But I am trying to move on, and the Red Sox are helping.  I don’t know if you have been paying attention, but the Red Sox are a ton of fun to watch.  They play great baseball, and their current players are so cool.  Plus I think they are having some kind of bizarre facial hair growing contest.  They all seem to have unusual beards.

I married into Red Sox Nation 15 years ago, and it’s a pretty cool place.  The fans are friendly and have a Cub-like mindset. They appreciate the post season and savor it the way it should be savored.  You have to appreciate these things.  And of course, the Red Sox actually win in the post season.  Sometimes.

So, I will be rooting for the Red Sox.  I wore my t-shirt yesterday to celebrate their win over the Angels.  Now I will not wear it again during the ALCS.  Why?  I’m sure you can guess.  It’ unlucky.  Every time I wear that shirt they lose.  I don’t even plan to touch it during the next round if I can help it. 

I will also get a lot of knitting done during the next round.  I was knitting during game four, and the Sox did really well.  Toward the end of the game I thought to myself “I think I’ll put this knitting away now and watch the end of the game”.  The Angels promptly tied the game up, so I picked up the needles again.  Hey, whatever works. 

Leave a Reply

