My day off

I didn’t do a damn thing today.  Not one.  Okay, maybe that isn’t entirely true.  I did get the children to and from school and feed them, and get The Princess to her riding lesson. And I emptied the dishwasher and loaded the dishwasher.   And I cleaned up the breakfast mess in the dining room.  You know, the bare minimum.  Oh, and I also put a new piece of weather stripping on the side door to cover up the hole where our little chipmunk friend got into the house.  Wow I did more than I thought.

But, there were a lot more things I didn’t do.  I didn’t do any laundry.  I didn’t sort through any of the junk in the office or work on the plans for the Halloween party.  I was taking the day off. 

Those of you who know me might be wondering how a stay-at-home mom (or as Tom prefers to call me, a Kept Woman) can take the day off?  I mean it’s not like I’m actually working, right?  Wrong! But that’s probably fodder for another day.  It’s easy.  To take a day off you just decide you are not going to do anything you don’t want to do, unless you absolutely have to do it.

So instead of cleaning or doing laundry or cooking I did what I think most people secretly suspect stay-at-home moms do all day while the kids are at school.  I spent the day lying on the couch reading a book and eating Doritos. So there!

And what wonderful Doritos they were too.  I bought a new flavor called Spicy Sweet Chili.  They are so good.  They are so good, in fact, that I must never buy them again.

The book I was reading was very good too.  It is called The Night Villa and the author is Carol Goodman.  I like her books very much.  She has a real talent for creating atmosphere.  And I like a book where you can get swept up in the mood of the thing and forget your real life for a few minutes.  I finishd the book, but not the Doritos.

Now, tonight I will eat Taco Pie (Tom is out of town) and watch the second Formula 1 practice session from Singapore.  They are racing at night this time.  I am not sure how I feel about this.  I just hope the race doesn’t turn out to be a complete disaster.  It’s supposed to rain.  I have to think racing in the rain in the dark (and yes I know the track is lit) is a very very bad idea.  But, I am sure I will have more about that later this weekend. 

Tomorrow I am back on the clock.

Leave a Reply

