Cubs Win!

CUBS WIN!  CUBS WIN!  CUBS WIN!  HOLY COW!

I know, I used that opening last year but it really is the best of all possible ways to shout this fact from the rooftops:

The Cubs are the National League Central Champions!

All due respect to Harry Caray of course.

As I said before, it’s never over until the final out.  Well, guess what, the final out was played this afternoon and the Cubs came out on top.  On top of the Central Division to be precise.

I was on the phone with my mom when the game ended.  I was a wreck.  Walking in circles, saying little prayers to the baseball gods and generally driving poor Tom crazy.  When Kerry Wood got Aaron Miles to fly out to Edmonds my mom was saying: “this is it, this is it” and I was saying: “oh my god oh my god oh my god”.  And then Edmonds caught the ball!  And we had won!  I was shaking, crying, everything.  I am so happy.  I ordered my t-shirt already.

There is still a lot of baseball left to play, but now we can relax a bit for the last games of the regular season, try to stay loose, try to stay in the zone and get ready for the train wreck that is October baseball. 

So, the Cubs are playoff bound for the second year in a row.  The Cubs have not won back-to-back titles since 1907-1908.  Do you see the symmetry here?

I shouldn’t get ahead of myself.  There is still a lot of baseball left to play.  Once the post-season starts we have eleven left to win.  And if that happens we can all sit back and watch my head explode.

The Cubs have the best record in the NL so we should play the Wild Card team, unless of course the Wild Card team is also from the NL Central.  If that happens, I think we play the division champion with the worst record.  But I could be wrong about that.  I am wrong about a lot of things.

For now, I am just going to enjoy the moment and start laying in supplies.  Beer, hot dogs, chips, dip, a home defibrillator kit.  You know, this and that. 

I said it before and I’ll say it again:  come on boys, I know you can do this.

 

Go Cubs!

Leave a Reply

