Her Royal Highness and ice cream

This made me kind of sad.  Princess O came up to me yesterday and said she needed my advice.  She proceeded to ask me if I thought she should save up for a new stuffed animal from the Build-A-Bear Workshop or an IPod Shuffle.  I guess this must be what they mean by a “tween”. 

I had no idea what to tell her.  My head was saying IPod.  She needs another stuffed animal like she needs a hole in her head.  My heart was screaming teddy bear.  Stay a little girl a little bit longer.

She has also been asking me constantly if we can go to Cold Stone Creamery, a fancy new ice cream place that has recently opened in town.  It gets tiresome, but I try to remember that it isn’t really her fault because in Rome she was accustomed to going out for ice cream three or four times a week.  I know that sounds decadent but you must remember the portion sizes are much smaller over there.  Besides, have you ever had Italian gelati?  You would eat it (almost) every night too if you could.

And now, because I can’t think of anything else to write here is a list of all the different flavors of gelati I tried in Italy.  Yes, I actually kept a running list the whole time we were there.  Am I a dork or what?

  1. Chocolate
  2. White chocolate
  3. Orange
  4. Vanilla-bourbon
  5. Honey
  6. Hazelnut chocolate
  7. Pineapple
  8. Strawberry
  9. Chocolate with cinnamon
  10. Pistachio
  11. Strawberry chip
  12. Chocolate chip
  13. La marena (I think this was cherry but I’m not sure)
  14. Coconut
  15. Peach
  16. Raspberry
  17. Blackberry
  18. Caramel nut
  19. Hazelnut
  20. Cinnamon
  21. Grand Marnier
  22. Chocolate with chili
  23. Walnut (my favorite)
  24. Cappuchino
  25. Crème caramel
  26. Pine nut (much better than it sounds)
  27. Tiramisu

4 thoughts on “Her Royal Highness and ice cream

  1. Now I am hungry and it is only 1030am. Thanks a bunch!
    Tell the Princess not to forget about Santa….”only” 4 months away.

Leave a Reply

