A gold medal diet

I have been watching a lot of Olympics coverage this week, even though I don’t think NBC is doing a particularly good job.  However, for our purposes right now that is neither here nor there.

I like to watch the swimming events, and have, naturally, seen Michael Phelps on my TV quite a bit.  Every time I see him I think to myself: “wow, he’s a big guy”.  I have been having a great time watching him swim and I always wonder how a person gets to be that good, and what their every day lives are like.  I’m nosy that way.

Well, according to the Wall Street Journal he trains for about 5+ hours a day.  That sounds like a lot to me. But on the plus side you can apparently eat just about anything you want.  This article says Phelps normally eats about 12,000 calories a day. That’s right, 12-thousand calories.  Every single day.  Can you imagine?

I know this has been floating around the Internet for a couple days now, but here is a sample menu published in that article:

Breakfast:

  • Three fried-egg sandwiches with cheese, lettuce, tomato, fried onions and mayo
  • Two cups of coffee
  • One five-egg omelet
  • One bowl of grits and for dessert
  • Three slices of French toast topped with powdered sugar and
  • Three chocolate-chip pancakes

I wonder if he cooks all that himself.

Lunch:

  • One pound of enriched pasta (with sauce I assume)
  • Two large ham and cheese sandwiches with mayo on white bread
  • Energy drinks packing 1,000 calories.

What?  No potato chips?

Dinner:

  • One pound of pasta
  • An entire pizza
  • More energy drinks

I’m exhausted just thinking about eating that much food.  Although, I guess if you are gong to spend upwards of five hours training every day, you should be entitled to eat whatever you damn well please.

Phelps won another gold medal last night.  Clearly the diet works.

 

Leave a Reply

