Back to School/Happy New Year!

School starts next week.  Yesterday we got to go to school and find out what classes the children had been assigned to.  The C-man got Mrs. D, the same third grade teacher Her Royal Highness had, so I am pleased.  The Princess, meanwhile, got Mrs. S for fifth grade.  Mrs. S is new this year.  I am keeping an open mind.

I love back to school time, and not just because the kids are going to be out of the house all day once again (woo hoo!).  I love the whole idea of a fresh start.  Every fall you get a new notebook and a clean slate.  I’m not sure why, maybe because I am married to a professor, but September always feels more like the beginning of a new year than January does. 

And of course, I love school supplies.  I have a Notebook Problem. I cannot resist them.  Especially when you can get a pack of 5 college ruled single subject notebooks for fifty cents.  Fifty cents!  I have already bought one pack.  I’m sure once they go on sale (after school starts) I will get even more.  At the moment I probably have a stack of 6 or 8 blank notebooks in the office, and even more partially filled notebooks scattered around the house.  

I also have a deep and abiding love of Trapper Keepers and other binder/organizer “systems”.  Every year I wrack my brain for a good excuse to buy one.  So far I have managed to resist their wiles, but I feel myself growing weaker…

One thought on “Back to School/Happy New Year!

  1. I agree – school supply shopping is an event I look forward to every year! All those new folder, and pencils, and markers, and notebooks. It’s just heavenly!!!!

Leave a Reply

