The Olympics and Wrigley Field

I am weak.  I have been watching the Opening Ceremonies, and every commercial break has me reaching for the Kleenex.  Every Coke ad, every Go World ad, every freaking Home Depot ad and I am an emotional dishrag.  This is terrible.  It’s going to be a long 17 days.

***

20 years ago tomorrow was the first official night game a Wrigley Field.  Note I say the first official game.  The first game was scheduled for 08/08/88.  A very lucky day if you are Chinese.  Not so lucky if you were a Cubs fan with tickets that night.  It got rained out after 3 and a half innings.  Oh well.

Enter our family the very next night.  My mom had acquired tickets during the winter, before we knew it would be a night game.  It was just a lucky break for us.  I remember I wasn’t very happy about the idea of lights at Wrigley.  I have always been something of a baseball purist. I hate the designated hitter.  I hate Astroturf (there should be a law), and I hate the idea of instant replay in baseball.  But that is probably fodder for another post.

Anyway, I wasn’t sure how I felt about the idea of baseball under the lights at my beloved Wrigley Field.  But I remember being blown away with how beautiful the park looked. 

And, if you want to split hairs, Wrigley was originally supposed to be one of the first major league stadiums with lights, not the last.  Lights were supposed to be installed for the 1942 season.  But after the Japanese invaded Pearl Harbor Mr. Wrigley donated the equipment to the war effort.  You can look it up on Wikipedia.  So it’s okay for me to be a baseball purist and still love Wrigley Field at night.

Leave a Reply

