Odds and Ends

I am shamelessly stealing this idea from my brother, who does something similar on his blog.

Last week he wrote about finding an earwig in a peach he was getting ready to eat.  I had a Traumatic Experience with an earwig when I was younger.  And that is all I am prepared to say on that subject.  Except that after reading my brother’s tale of woe I may never be able to buy peaches again.

***

Today is Formula 1 driver Fernando Alonso’s birthday.  He is 27 years old now.  At the ripe old age of 27 he has

  • 503 career F1 points
  • 49 podiums
  • 19 wins
  • 17 pole positions

and

  • 2 World Championships

Not bad, not bad at all.  Happy Birthday Alonso.  Come on over, I made cake. 

***

The Cubs are in the middle of a four-game set against the Brewers in Milwaukee.  They won last night.  One down three to go.  I am just hoping for the split.  The good news is we faced C.C. Sabathia last night, and he is one of their best pitchers.  So now we don’t have to worry about him anymore this series.  I can’t decide if I should watch tonight or not.  I have set my TiVo, but I don’t know if I have the nerve. 

***

I am sitting on the porch right now watching it rain and listening to the thunder.  I will have to go in soon so my computer doesn’t get wet.

4 thoughts on “Odds and Ends

  1. Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

    I miss thunderstorms!

    Last night’s game nearly killed me and I was just following the score online and at the bottom of the screen of the Red Sox game.

  2. My boss tells a story of how his youngest daughter wont eat peaches because they were in Georgia at a swim meet and she cut open a peach and several, not one, but a whole slew of earwigs came crawling out of it. She was probably about 10 at the time, she is now 32 and has not eaten a peach since.

    I violently dispise earwigs, I may boycott peaches now that I know that this is not an isolated incident.

Leave a Reply

