Spray on Sunblock

First of all, let me just say I love spray-on sunblock.  I think whoever invented it should win a Nobel Prize.  And while I am handing out Nobel Prizes I think the inventors of Invisible Grape Kool-Aid and Popsicles without food coloring should get them too.

So, back to the sunblock.  I love the stuff.  It is quick and it is way easier than lotion.  Especially when you are trying to slather it onto the stomach of a ticklish eight year-old.  I think it would be easier to stuff a live salmon into a string bag than it is to put sunblock on my son’s belly.

We went to the pool today.  Our first trip of the season.  I was careful to spray both of the children from head to toe and then turned the nozzle on myself.  And this is what I learned today about spray-on sunblock:  It is very easy to miss a spot.

So I sat there on my chaise lounge reading my book and drinking my Diet Coke and all the while I was slowly frying.  But not everywhere.  I have a red streak down my left arm, a palm sized red spot on my right shoulder and a bright crimson strip across my chest from where I either missed a spot, or the top of my suit shifted during the afternoon.

I feel like an idiot.  On the plus side, it is not very painful –yet.  I have been very generous with the Banana Boat sunburn relief spray.  I can’t remember what it is called, but it seems to be working, so far.

On the other plus side, at least it was me and not one of the children.  So at least I just feel like an idiot, and not like an idiot wracked with guilt.

I can’t wait to see what I look like in the morning. 

Stupid.  Stupid.  Stupid

Leave a Reply

