Floods and Le Mans

While much of Iowa is under water, things actually seem to be getting better here.  They evacuated parts of Des Moines yesterday, and I think almost all of Cedar Rapids, but Ames has been relatively dry.  Many people have called to see if we have floated away, and we have been able to report that we are happily sitting high and (mostly) dry.

We did get our usual water in the basement and I think the time has come to pull up the carpet down there.  But we will have to wait for it to dry out because I don’t want to drag soaking wet disgusting carpeting up the stairs and out of the house. 

Things are starting to quiet down.  You can’t hear the water rushing through the storm drain in the street anymore from the porch, and you can’t hear the water rushing into the sump pump drain anymore either.  Everything smells like wet basement, but that hardly seems worth complaining about in the grand scheme of things. 

Now I am watching the 24 hours of Le Mans on Speed channel.  I have never watched this race before.  I am only watching it this year because there are a lot, and I mean a LOT of former F1 drivers racing this time.  Including two of my old favorites:  Alex Wurz and Jacques Villeneuve.  So I put it on after the kids went to bed.

I don’t know anything about endurance racing so I have no idea what is going on.  This is actually very relaxing.  I talked on the phone for a while, did some knitting, ate some Doritos and now I am writing this.  The engine sounds make for good background noise, and if the announcers start yelling I know to look up and see what happened.  And I have to admit I keep thinking of that line from the Steve McQueen movie Le Mans;  “I want you to go all out.  I want Porsche to win Le Mans”.  It is starting to really get on my nerves.

I should probably pay more attention to the race, and then I could learn something.  However, there are something like 55 cars running and there is no way I will ever keep them all straight.  The team Jacques Villeneuve is on is first in his class so that’s exciting. 

That’s the other thing; there are two different kinds of cars running at the same time.  It’s kind of confusing. 

 And how do you attend a 24-hour race anyway?  Tom says he thinks there is camping involved, which means we will never be going.  I don’t camp.  I actually have a bag (a birthday present from my sister) that says, “I love not camping” on it.  It’s funny because it’s true.  I shall take it everywhere.

 

 

Leave a Reply

