More Reading Material

I’m reading Under the Tuscan Sun by Francis Mayes.  It has a lot of very nice, romantic descriptions of Tuscany.  This is good.  I read, and I get excited about the trip.  Then I can actually get some stuff done before the enormousness of this task overwhelms me again.  I am actually very excited about this trip, but getting organized to get there feels like a huge undertaking. 

The book also has a lot of descriptions of food.  This is bad.  I read and I get hungry.  I don’t want to get hungry; I am trying really hard not to eat between meals these days as part of my no doubt futile attempt to get down to my Hollywood weight before we leave. 

Hollywood weight is the term I use for that elusive low number on the scale that I will probably never see again.  For me it’s what I weighed in the oh so brief period between when I lost the baby weight from pregnancy #1 and before the start of pregnancy #2.  I’m about five pounds off from it right now.  It is so tantalizingly close…if only I could lay off the nachos. 

Actually, the nachos should stop soon.  Baseball season and the F1 season are almost over.  Those are really the only occasions my husband and I watch TV together.  We like to share a plate of nachos and a beer or two during the game or race.  Once the last race is run and the World Series is over, I’m back to watching What Not to Wear by myself.  It’s not as much fun to snack by yourself, so I usually don’t.  

I’m trying to get down to my Hollywood weight because I anticipate eating like a long shore man in Rome.  The food is so good; I would hate to deny myself anything.  Everybody keeps telling me not to worry about it.  They say, “you won’t gain weight, you’ll be walking so much”.  True, but I don’t think these people have any idea how much gelati I can eat when I put my mind to it.  Better to be prepared now, so I don’t have to worry about it later. 

And for the record, I am really not this superficial.  It’s just easier to worry about what to wear and how much weight I will gain than it is to worry about the big things.  Things like: 

  • Will I totally screw up my children by home schooling them while we are gone?
  • How will I ever get them (especially my son) to go back to regular school next fall?
  • What if the children are miserable and want to come home?
  • Etc., etc., etc.

 I am excellent at worrying.  If it were an Olympic sport, I would be a gold medalist.

One thought on “More Reading Material

  1. Don’t worry about the kids. And kids are more likely to be screwed up in school than by home schooling. My brother and I were just kids our first trip to Italy, and I know lots of other people who have gone overseas with their kids, and the kids always end up being vastly more interesting, confident, and comfortable in strange situations than folks who leave their kids at home. Just remember — kids take their cues from their parents; if you’re excited and positive, they will likely be excited and positive. And don’t wait till then to start with the home schooling. Depending on their ages, either start just showing them pictures and using a few Italian words or involve them in planning and discussions of what you’ll see and how great the food is — and don’t forget to mention the gelato.

Leave a Reply

